Philadelphia Eagles

Team winning percentage scale

2000-2009: The Donovan McNabb and Andy Reid Era
He was first booed by the Philadelphia faithful at the moment of his draft selection because he wasn't Ricky Williams.  He then was challenged by radio host Rush Limbaugh for being overrated by the mainstream media because of his skin color.  Then T.O. came in 2004 where the two would be 3 points short of becoming Super Bowl Champions.  A fight between them in 2005 ultimately resulted in the suspension of Terrell Owens, and the team has never been the same since.  Donovan McNabb (photo) was finally traded to the Washington Redskins before the 2010 season. 

1988-1998: The Randall Cunningham, Rich Kotite, and Ray Rhodes Era
After winning a super bowl with the 85 Bears as defensive coordinator, Buddy Ryan became head coach of the Eagles in 1986.  He would build a powerhouse defense headed by DE Reggie White.  Randall Cunningham would be the QB until new head coach Ray Rhodes benched him in 1995.  The Eagles would become the laughing stock of the league by 1998. 

1982-1987: 82 Strike and Dick Vermeil's resignation
Due to burnout, Dick Vermeil (photo) resigns after the 1982 season.  The Eagles would fall back out of contention, where owner Leonard Tose began to gamble heavily.  He would lose ownership of the Eagles to Norman Braman in 1985.    

1976-1981: The Dick Vermeil turnaround and Super Bowl XXV
After 10 straight non-winning seasons, the Eagles hire Dick Vermeil to become head coach.  The workaholic head coach is very unpopular with the players, but that all changed when they became winners thanks to Herman Edwards "miracle at the meadowlands" in 1978.  They would reach the Super Bowl in the 1980 season, but lost to the Oakland Raiders 27-10.    

1962-1975:  The post Bednarik and Leonard Tose Era 

Web Hosting Companies